What Careers, Opportunities Did you Have to Sacrifice - to be a Witness ?

by flipper 35 Replies latest jw friends

• flipper
    flipper

I know this may be an annoying subject . But if you did have to give up doing what you wanted in a career or opportunity - what was it ? How controlling was the organization over you, and were you counseled by elders or higher ups to NOT pursue certain jobs, opportunities, college , etc - so that you stayed in the witnesses for awhile ; not doing what you wanted?

Myself , I could have worked for a state corrections prison, with benefits , worked for a county courthouse , with benefits . I was pressured by my fanatic ex-wife who was a witness to quit a good paying job for Frito-lay company because of the night shift hours- missing meetings. Finally I found I' d just stay self - employed, probably make better money doing that anyway - which I've been doing now for over 25 years.

So, I think it would help others here on the board to hear about what we had to go through, how we dealt with it, and overcame the organizations attempt to keep us suppressed and controlled ! Have you been able to get situated in a career- in spite of the witnesses at one time stealing all your time from you ? Were you ever told to give up jobs - so you wouldn't miss meetings? How did you handle it ? As always I look forward to your experiences , and how life is treating you now ! We have all had to overcome so much control over our lives from this organization ! Peace out, Mr. Flipper

• ninja
    ninja

I gave up a good career ....modelling for cabbage patch kids

• undercover
    undercover

Well, I didn't go to college (gee, I wonder why) so I didn't get a degree. In high school, I thought it would have been cool to be an architect, but the college thing killed that.