Memorial Blues....

by Patrynz 18 Replies latest jw friends

• Patrynz
    Patrynz

Ok...so this is my first time posting here...long time lurker first time poster...a bit bout my situation...I havent been to a meeting in a LONG time...the last was my meeting to announce my disfellowshipping...I have recently gotten an invitation to the memorial...*gasp* well it IS about that time of year again...I had been fortunate enuff to be vacant when it came to previous memorials and meetings in general, but due to a sudden unforseen familial situation I was located (found) and invited to the memorial....I have accepted the invitation and my significant other (who has no JW past) will be coming with me...she knows that this part of my life was brutal and that I have tried to leave it behind me as much as is humanly possible...SHE is a big reason I have been able to move past a lot of my "issues" with religion, family etc etc blah blah blah...I have gotten past a LOT of those issues...

My question i think is...am I making a mistake in going? I have no belief in their drivel and no desire to go back to THAT "dogs vomit" but due to my semi-newfound appreciation for life and life AFTER jw'ness I am trying to patch stuff up with my JW family...least as much as I can...IF such a thing is even possible...my JW family is actually treating me with some degree of human kindness and I feel as though I should at least try to rebuild some semblance of "family" I dunno....but I am going to the memorial....I must be nucking futz...anyhow...thoughts?

• babygirl75
    babygirl75

Welcome to the board.....