So I called the headquarters.

by DT 22 Replies latest watchtower scandals

• DT
    DT

I've never done this before, but I wanted to be involved with the informal campaign to call the headquarters on or around the first day of each month. I haven't even spoken to a witness since I DA'd. I had very modest goals for this call. I wanted to get a better idea of how they handle calls and I wanted to get over some of my irrational nervousness about talking to people who think I'm an evil apostate who will soon be destroyed by God.

I first got an operator and said that I'm looking for a public statement about the Jehovah's Witness view of the UN. He was pretty abrupt and transferred me to an operator at Patterson. I repeated my request and she transferred me again. I tried to be pleasant and just said that I was doing some research on your religion and was wondering if you have a public statement about your opinion of the UN. I said that I couldn't find anything on their websites. He paused for a little bit. I got the feeling that he didn't know were I was coming from and was wondering if he should say good things or bad things about the UN. Then he mentioned a series of articles in the September 8, 1991 Watchtower. I asked if this is the most recent information on this. He said their view has basically stayed the same since then. He read a few very neutral quotes about the UN until one hinted that there might be something better.