Scamed on Ebay

by noni1974 40 Replies latest jw friends

• noni1974
    noni1974

I bought what was advertized as a Sapphire and diamond 10 k ring.What I got was a coustume plated fake gold fake sapphire fake diamond ring.I was also way over charged for shipping.I was charged $14.99 and I asked the seller if it would be insured for that price.They said it would be.They paid $1.13 for the shipping and no insurance.

I've made a report to both ebay and paypal.I'm thinking of reporting it to my visa card company.Now I'm waiting for the seller to reply to me.Now what??I'm new to this ebay thing.Should I shipp it back to the seller??Should I keep it??

I know it's a fake because the "gold" is not marked 10 k.Every gold piece I've ever owned has a halmark on it saying what grade of gold it is.I have a gold sapphire ring my Mom gave me and I know it's gold because I can see a tiny hallmark inside the band that says 10 k and I know the sapphire is real because it's got a cloudy line in it.A inclusion if you will.Only real stones have these inclusions.

*Sigh*

This was a special gift to myself for Christmas.I really wanted a sapphire ring to go on my other hand.Oh well.

• R.Crusoe
    R.Crusoe

If it's plated with 10k it won't have a hallmark and the description is likely still valid. That's the trouble with online stuff - it can look real even if its plastic!

• cognizant dissident
    cognizant dissident

Jewelry from other countries (India, etc.) may not always have a mark on it. I had a 22 carat gold necklace from India. No marks at all.

I suggest you have a qualified jeweller certifiy it as a fake in writing and then contact ebay and paypal. Maybe they can stop payment or reverse the payment to the seller. At the least revoke his privileges. If it was really expensive contact the police. It is fraud. Maybe even mail fraud, since it was mailed.

Sorry you got burned. I bought things twice on e-bay. No problems.

Cog

• moshe
    moshe