Hi from a newbie here

by tere1998 37 Replies latest jw friends

• tere1998
    tere1998

I joined this site about a week ago and have enjoyed reading all the posts and chatter. I was raised in the JWs, baptized at 17 (didn't know any better) but once I got married and had a baby, I just didn't have enough time to go to all the meetings during the week. We got the "shepherding calls" and pretty much were looked down on for not going to all the meetings. Anyway, I ended up "fading" about 20 years ago, my marriage ended, then I tried to make an honest effort to go back about 7 years ago. However, since I was working and going to school at night for my Master's degree, I was still shunned and looked down upon. How dare I try to be successful in this system of things when the end is so near? I must have just been materialistic. LOL I finally got pissed and never went back. It's funny how so many "brothers and sisters" can be on welfare, food stamps, disability (when they are not truly disabled) or milking the unemployment, but as long as they go to the meetings and door to door, they are held in high regard. Me? I was worse than an unbeliever... raising my son alone with pretty much no support from his dad, but making it on my own without government assistance. Since then I read a lot of "contraband" and "apostate" literature out there, and I found it was all true. No wonder the JWs are not permitted to read it!!

Well, it was bothering me that I am still regarded as an "inactive publisher", so I wrote the WTS last week and asked that I be removed from their member list and that I am disassociating myself. I figure that whenever my judgement day comes, I don't want whatever god is out there to judge me as an evil person because I never cut the ties with that horrid cult. I guess I should expect a judicial committee to come knocking on my door any day now! LOL