Home coffee roasting.

by BrentR 10 Replies latest social physical

• BrentR
    BrentR

I have been roasting my own coffee for over three years. It is very simple and you probably allready have the utensils needed in your kitchen. You can save at least 50% or more and get much better quality coffee. I never spend more then $4 a lbs on green coffee beans and $3.50 is more often the average cost.

I can post a quickie description of the process w/pics if anyone is interested.

• greendawn
    greendawn

The aroma of baking bread and roasting coffee must be the best things that can fill a house. I never roasted coffee but I experienced the wonderful aroma of the process when walking near shops that do it.

What equipment does one need and which are your favourite coffee beans or mixes of these? It sounds like an interesting idea, much better than instant coffee.

• bigwilly
  • Mum
    Mum

Someone told me once that they had a friend who did his own roasting in a popcorn popper! It was a particular brand that was supposed to roast the beans to perfection. Have any of you heard of that?

• Scully
    Scully

Well, I'm not a coffee drinker anymore, but maybe if I could roast the beans to my liking or add my own flavorings, I might be tempted to try it again.

I love the aromas of home made bread, home baked pies and cookies, and home made soup or stew. I'll have to give the coffee bean roasting a try.

• Dagney
    Dagney

I'm interested!

• BrentR
    BrentR

The simplest way is to use a cast iron pot or frying pan over an outdoor hot plate or propane burner. The smoke is pretty obnoxious smelling so don't try it inside. For this demo. I used the side burner on my gas BBQ.

Fill the pot/pan up with 2 +/- cups of green coffee beans. I buy mine from the coffee project in CA. They usually have the lowest prices and a good selection.http://coffeeproject.com