WBTS talking about superannuation

by sass_my_frass 7 Replies latest jw friends

• sass_my_frass
    sass_my_frass

Being bereft of my WBTS CD, can somebody who has the inclination (we'll call her Blondie ) think of or even better, quote any time that the publications have mentioned saving for retirement? I said to my grands that they 'never once' mentioned financial security in retirement, and want to make sure I wasn't being melodramatic.

Can somebody else pm me the location of an online version of the CD, so I can look this stuff up for myself? Much obliged.

• jwfacts
    jwfacts

Sorry I don't have my laptop on me to look it up, but it reminds me - I am a tax consultant and used to do tax returns for over 100 JWs. Often they would ask me about superannuation, often wanting to know how to withdraw it or stop paying it, which you can't do in Australia without exceptional circumstances. I would always recommend against it. Others would sheepishly ask what I thought about adding extra to superannuation. It was always a bit embarrassing as it was a confession that they expected to still be living in 40 or 50 years time when they would be needing it in retirement.

• sass_my_frass
    sass_my_frass
    Others would sheepishly ask what I thought about adding extra to superannuation.

Heya JWF... yep that would have been an uncomfortable situation, but I'm glad to hear that it happens, and that not every JW is as deluded about their future as my folks.

• Gill
    Gill

I do remember an article on the elderly that recommended that people make plans and provision for their old age so as not to be a burden on their children. But it must have been many years ago and I don't remember exactly when.

• fokyc
    fokyc

Awake 1975

11/8 p.12 "How to Make Retirement Rewarding"