new documentary film about Disfellowshipping - the anti - Knocking

by RubyParker 74 Replies latest forum announcements

• RubyParker
    RubyParker

My name is Ruby Parker. I am 29 years old. I was disfellowshipped when I was 16, I have completed a Double Major in Anthropology and Religion studies. I am agnostic and I am a filmmaker. I am taking the next 12 months to make my first feature film, a documentary about religious shunning and disfellowshipping in particular.

I will be setting up my film's website shortly, and will then provide the appropriate links. I am hoping to interview multiple individuals who have been disfellowshipped - North American sources are helpful - but I would encourage people from all over the world to contact me if they are interested in participating or sharing their story.

I am hoping to articulate the pain and emotional suffering I have endured through other people's varied experiences, without making myself a subject in the film. In particular I am encouraging those who are:

a. thinking of leaving
    b. who have been disfellowshipped - particularly those at a young age like myself
    c. those who have been severely shunned by their immediate family and entire congregation/community
    d. those who have lost their children and/or spouses in the process
    e. mental health professionals who specialize or who have worked with those within this population
    f. those few grad students from different disciplines who have completed theses / dissertations related to this topic
    g. information regarding individuals who have committed suicide as a result of their being disfellowshipped.