Anyone here drop out of high school pre 1975?

by Threestars 15 Replies latest jw experiences

• Threestars
    Threestars

Just wondering. And if so, were you able to go back later on and finish? I barely made it in under the wire, so to speak, but my three younger siblings had to quit (Our Dad made them--he said they would be better off "pioneering" but in reality he put them to work in a gardening business he started since he had quit HIS job and maxed his credit cards--waiting for "the END".) They were 14, 15, and 16.

• NewYork44M
    NewYork44M

I graduated highschool in 1975. There were a few that I was personally aware of that quit school prior to 1975 to pioneer.

The two that come to mind, an elder's daughter and my cousin are no longer in the organization.

While there may not have been the peer pressure to quit school around then, there was a tremendous amount of pressure not to continue your education.

Thankfully I did not listen.

• south african beef
    south african beef

No I didn't drop out of school but I remember as my mum and dad drove me up the driveway to my secondary (high) school in 1973 they said 'this will be your school until armageddon'.

I went back there a couple of years ago and the school no longer exists - it's been demolished ready for housing.

If it had been my school until armageddon just think how much I would have learned by now - I would be super brainy!

• AK - Jeff
    AK - Jeff

I graduated in 1973 - but dropped out of any further education. In fact - though I was able to get good grades without studying, I left my grades fall a lot due to knowing the end was about here.

I did not feel any pressure here to quit hs - though many in our cong did and finished with home schooling.

Jeff

• Highlander
    Highlander

I was born in 1975 so this thread doesn't quite apply to me, however I would like to make a comment.