what did you "sacrifice" when you came in the Truth?

by skyclad 20 Replies latest jw experiences

• skyclad
    skyclad

I'm a newbie, bin lurking for days and bin doing so much research from your informative threads that my family think I'm possibly "comin back in the Truth" =not!! This is my 1st post so forgive if already done before, but just wondered what you had to "sacrifice to come in the Truth?" In my case, I was baptised in early 80's, my study conductor and all the dubs heavily drilled into us young-uns to sacrifice whatever it takes to please the org. After every study and at meetings, especially after baptism, was practically forced to "packup your jobs, pioneer for the end/finishing line is (not round the bend) but right infront of us!!" I , stupidly gave up a good medical career, failed my higher uni.exams, gave up a very good job (as whats the point as medicine wont be needed in the new system)then started pioneering. This lasted all of 6 months as 1-by-1 the help I was promised dropped off, ended up doing all the ministry "efforts", slaving for the elders, with very few studies, and left all alone to get-on-with-it. Now 25 yrs later have got back into medicine but have never quite felt as though I've acheived my full potential. Anyone had similar regrets?

• nvrgnbk
    nvrgnbk

what did you "sacrifice" when you came in the Truth?

The same chance for a successful life that unbrainwashed, cult-free people have.

This recent thread may also be of interest to you:Stuck in a dead-end job because of obeying anti-higher education policy?

Forgive my lack of manners.

Welcome to the wonderful and wacky world of JWD.

Nvr

• Zico
    Zico

I was brought up in the Truth, but I still sacrificed things. The biggest for me is not going to Uni, but I intend to make up for this one within the next few years. :)

Welcome to the board!

• Threestars
    Threestars