Born Againers and that Small Voice

by timetochange 15 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• timetochange
    timetochange

My born again neighbor keeps talking about a small voice that he and those in his church hear. A poster here also mentioned it:

I let my "little voice" inside tell me yes, do it or NO dont....So far since I accepted the REAL truth (1989) Has not led me astray I believe that is the HOLY SPIRIt> that little voice -because the Bible says the HOLY SPIRIT will teach you all things....I am still learning but it is WONDERFUL to know I am saved by GRACE no works,,,,,,,,Just faith.

Can any born again Christians here clarify this? Is this a voice you actually hear? I've tried asking my neighbor but he's not able to explain it except to say that only a "born againer can understand". Is that true?

I'm interested in understanding this experience because it seems to permeate the born again community in my area and comes into play in many of our conversations. They are directed to do all manner of things religious, personal and secular. It worries me.

Ed.

• Outaservice
    Outaservice

The thought comes from the Scripture in 1 Kings 19:11-12 concerning how God spoke to Elisha. Of course God speaks many ways to individuals such as through other people, events, scriptures, etc., but also speaks to us in 'a still small voice' or as the NIV calls it, 'a gentle whisper'!

Outaservice

• Honesty
    Honesty

This morning a friend told me about it.

If you are in the will of God you hear it as it directs you.

If you are out of the will of God you hear it as it pleas for you to open the door of your heart and let Jesus in.

• Perry
    Perry

2 Samuel 23:2 The Spirit of the Lord spoke through me; his word was on my tongue

2 Chron 28:12 He gave him the plans of all that the Spirit had put in his mind for the courts of the temple of the Lord and all the surrounding rooms, for the treasuries of the temple of God and for the treasuries for the dedicated things.