Bluetooth Headsets: Geeky or Sexy?

by Elsewhere 25 Replies latest jw friends

• Elsewhere
    Elsewhere

As a programmer I am exposed to high technology all the time and ironically this has given me an odd aversion to it! I like gadgets and gizmos like anyone else; however I demand it be discrete. When I'm out-n-about I want to be connected, but at the same time I don't want anyone to be able to see it.

For years I have avoided the Bluetooth Headsets that appear to be gaining in popularity, however I’m still not quite ready to get one because of the obvious geek factor and the simple fact that many people who wear them appear to be making the "Look at me, I've fancy" statement. (wow, now that is a run-on sentence!) It all reminds me of when beepers and cell phones first came out. A lot of people wore them primarily so they could be seen wearing them.

Granted, the headsets are getting very small and stylish, but have they gotten passed the "look at me" phase yet?

Another thing I am worried about is the security of Bluetooth. I know the old v1.1 has security wholes that allow a hacker to literally hijack your phone, get your address list and even make phone calls using your phone. For this reason I never turn on my cell phone’s Bluetooth.

My cell phone supports the new Bluetooth v2.0 which I *suspect* is more secure, but I don’t know for sure. Does anyone know how/if secure the v2.0 is?

So what are your thoughts? Is it time for me to get a Headset?

• J-ex-W
    J-ex-W

Neither, in my opinion. Practical.

And the only reason I know anything about it is because I saw my older sister (43 yrs. and a retired ol' Navy salt) wearing one in a mall to keep track of me and my niece as we split off together. She's neither sexy (in my opinion) nor geeky...but she is very practical. So there's my assessment.