Still go to jw funerals?

by Dune 12 Replies latest jw friends

• Dune
    Dune

I've been fading for about 6 months now and a couple of witnesses in my old congregation have died. A smidget of me wanted to go for the sentimental reasons. But i knew i wouldnt be able to handle the 'lovebombing', the questioning and a restart on harassment by the elders.

What do you guys do when a jw you knew dies?

• needproof
    needproof

I wouldn't cross the road for them, they were nowhere to be seen when I left.

• Lumptard
    Lumptard

Depends on how well I knew them and how they treated me when they were alive. Good people are good people no matter what religion they are.

• undercover
    undercover

Depends on who it is.

Just as it is with "regular" folks, it would be the same for JWs.

There are some people whose funeral I would attend...or at least go to the family night/viewing/whatever it's called usually held the night before the funeral.

But there are some people that I wouldn't give more than a moment's thought on if I heard they died, let alone go to their funeral.

I try hard to not lump all JWs into a class of people, all to be treated the same. I try to treat them and remember them as individuals. Some good, some bad, some in between. Those that I respected and liked, I would be sorry to hear of their passing and would pay my respects in some way. Those that I didn't care for, I wouldn't give much thought too, nor attend their funeral.

Since I am inactive and not DFd or DAd, it is easier for me to show my face in such situations. Those that are DFd or DAd would have a whole different set of circmustances.

• Vinny
    Vinny

This thread might help from last week.

http://www.jehovahs-witness.com/6/128383/1.ashx

I went and here was my conclusion:

Okay, I went... and I am glad I went because it proved to me that I should NEVER go back again!