Newbie here with a DF question

by Steve4nLanguage 16 Replies latest jw friends

• Steve4nLanguage
    Steve4nLanguage

I discovered this site only this morning, and have been reading for about 3 hours now. Very interesting.This is my first post, and I have a question, however, if this is the wrong forum please let me know or please move this post to the correct location. Thanks.

I'll try to keep this preface short. I was raised a JW since birth and got baptized in 1984. I pioneered and did a stint as a MS, but since around 1993 my meeting attendance, etc. gradually declined. In 1999 I went before a judicial committee for something that I confessed to. I could have been DF'd, but I guess I seemed repentent enough that I wasn't. However, I have never been back to the KH since then (except a couple of times to an out-of-town KH for funerals). There's a lot more to the story, but for now I'll just say that I'm a much happier person.

My question is: Even though I have never been contacted by the elders since 1999, is it possible that I could have been subsequently DF'd anyway, without notice? I don't really care one way or the other, it's just that there are a small number of JWs in my area who will still greet and talk to me in passing, but I don't know if they're still doing this because I haven't been officially DF'd, or if they're breaking the rules and showing some humanity.

So, are any elders or others out there who know if one can be DF's without notice? Perhaps the trend now is to just leave inactive ones alone?

Thanks.

• riverofdeceit
    riverofdeceit