Question: Advance Medical Directive/Release cards

by Facet 8 Replies latest watchtower medical

• Facet
    Facet

Hi everyone, I hope that you can help me out! I'm a graduate student studying medical ethics, and I'm seeking information regarding these cards. What I need to find out is this: 1) Do these cards need to be dated AND signed by TWO witnesses in order to be considered valid? 2) What happens if someone lacks this complete information, and has ONLY signed it themselves -- should their wishes still be respected, if they are in need of emergency medical care? (assuming they're unconscious, and this card if their only form of "consent" (or lack thereof!) I'm just seeking the importance of having the cards filled out completely -- this is in issue that I am required to address/research, and I sincerely hope to hear back from you! Thanks so much -F

• JWdaughter
    JWdaughter

You might want to check a local hospital admittance office, or a doctors office, or a quick call to an attorney who deals with medical issues if you don't get an answer here. Its a legal question, and here you will get a lot of opinions. Some may have had experience though, so stick around and you may learn some things that are useful to you, even if they are purely anecdotal in nature. There may be information on http://www.ajwrb.org/ which is a site exclusively about JWs and blood. You will find a lot of good information there.

• OnTheWayOut
    OnTheWayOut

It would vary slightly from state to state, country to country.

In general, in the U.S., if you don't have it filled out, signed and witnessed by two,
    then a judge would go easier on violating your wishes, and a doctor might be
    quicker to not wait for the judge since his legal dept. will tell him that he will be
    sued if he doesn't give the blood, but the client's family won't have a good case
    for sueing if he does give the blood.

I am somewhat familiar with emergency care. If a DNR is not to be found, then