How Many Disfellowshipped Are There In The US?

by Village Idiot 20 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Village Idiot
    Village Idiot

I've read in the Watchtower, as well as observed personally, that 1% of the congregation gets disfellowshipped every year. I'm not good at the math but I figure that it's 40% since 1975 (Yes I know, they're growing). I know that quite a few return but still, there must be a large percentage of disfellowshipped JWs who will never return. Many are still mentally in but quite a few remain, out for ever, seeing it for what it is.

One thing that gives me a clue is my apartment complex. It has 120 some units and a JW manager who, of course, put mostly JWs in. There are 21 buildings of six units each. In there I have counted 1 disfellowshipped person per building! That would make it 16% compared to inactives and active JWs.

Also, I ask what percentage of a regular congregation is mentally out for sure but are still physically in for obvious reasons.

In brief, how many disfellowshipped + inactive + active non-believers?

I ask this question because it seems to me that one of these days (If it hasn't happened yet) disfellowshipped, inactive and mentally out people will outnumber the active Witnesses.

Any clues or facts?

• sir82
    sir82

In the late 80's a WT article published that there were 40,000 DF'ed worldwide every year.

The count of JWs has increased roughly 3X since then, so 120,000/year would be a rough estimate.

Maybe 1/3 ever return after DF.

So, let's say an average of 80,000 / year for 25 years, 2 million. 1/3 return, so maybe 1.4 million DF'ed & remained out over the past 25 years.

Very likely at least that many have become inactive in that time frame.

Throw in kids raised a JWs who never got baptized, but also have left, and you're likely well over 3 million ex-JWs worldwide, just over the past 25 years.