Survival And Prepardness....

by Justice-One 28 Replies latest social physical

• Justice-One
    Justice-One

Survivalist. These days the word in most cases tends to conjure up images of wild eyed nuts in BDU's, armed to their teeth....all two of them.

BUT.....this is just not the case. More and more people these days are seeing the need to be prepared in at least some ways. For some it was the way they were raised. I was always taught that you should be able to take care of yourself and your loved ones, come Hell or high water. I freely admit that I have a lot in common with "Burt Gummer" and I'm proud of it. I have been acquiring "beans bullets and Band-Aid" for more than ten years now. I have also been acquiring the skills needed to use them.

Considering that most of us on this forum were taught that the "brothers" would take care of us, what is your thinking now? I remember one time when I was still in (near the edge, but still in) that there was ONE Elder that I liked. I even to a certain extent trusted him. I showed him my "JASBORR"...Justice's Amazing Secret Bunker Of Redundant Redundancy. He told me that should a disaster ever hit, he would not be give a thought to whether I would need help. He said I would be the one giving it out. BTW, as far as I know, he never did cause me any trouble over my supplies or beliefs.

• candidlynuts
    candidlynuts

tornados happen here on occasion..as well as the city water sometimes is bad enough that you cant drink it for days.. our supplies include: canned food, peanut butter, crackers, dried beans , rice,simple medicines (aspirin, pepto, antibiotic ointment, bandages) bottled water, a change of clothes in water proof package, blankets , candles, matches, flashlight ,radio, batteries and bleach for cleanups. (probably less than 30 dollars actually spent )

its all in a waterproof container in the basement. i add to it on occasion and check expiration dates and such.