Things JW's write: "It is reasonable to conclude"

by under_believer 12 Replies latest jw friends

• under_believer
    under_believer

Question for y'all--do you think that the person on the Writing Committee who writes something like: "it is reasonable to conclude, then, <wild speculation>" suffers any kind of ill effects? Do they momentarily shudder? Do they even realize what they're doing? Do they die a little, on the inside? Do they throw up in their mouth a bit? Or do they cackle maniacally?

• Fatfreek
    Fatfreek

In the late 70's a fellow elder and I studied together just before we made our simultaneous exit. Toward the end, "it is reasonable to conclude..." became a stock and humorous tension breaker in every discussion we had. I'm glad the GB still uses it as the world needs a little comic relief more often than not.

Fats

• Leolaia
    Leolaia

"It is reasonable to conclude" is short for "It is reasonable <<for anyone not thinking critically>> to conclude". Understandably, it's easier to just use the shorter expression.

• blondie
    blondie

That phrase basically means "we are the faithful and discreet slave and we have special understanding of what God meant to say so we will add to the Bible."

w05 5/1 p. 17 par. 16 Who Will Be Resurrected? ***

The apostle John described Cain as one "who originated with the wicked one." (1 John 3:12) It is reasonable to conclude that like his parents, he went to Gehenna when he died. (Matthew 23:33, 35)

w05 7/1 p. 28 Highlights From the Book of First Kings ***

Why

did Adonijah try to seize the throne while David was still alive? The Bible does not say. However, it is reasonable to conclude that since Adonijah’s older brothers Amnon and Absalom were already dead, as was probably David’s son Chileab, Adonijah thought that he had the right to the throne as the eldest of David’s remaining sons.

w05 7/15 p. 31 Questions From Readers ***