Guilt, Conscience and Catchphrases

by Davey 33 10 Replies latest jw friends

• Davey 33
    Davey 33

Hi All!

Pleased to meet u all! I'm a newbie with a messed up head (Thanks to all those wasted years).

My biggest problems are with guilt - I think its due to being raised as a JW. I feel guilty for almost everything - even when I know I haven't done anything wrong! The way your conscience is so highly tuned in the truth is the only explaination I can find. Also I find it hard to reason on a day to day basis without the old catch phrases bugging me.... ie "bad associations spoil useful habits", "everything in moderation", "You reap what you sow" etc etc etc etc!!!

Aaaaaaaaaaargh!

Can anyone suggest how to re-balance my guilt / conscience system? I have been out of it for around 5 years and still struggle.

Please please - no bible bashing tho - I have soooooo had enough of that in my life - just practical suggestions - the tried and tested ones you know that work.

Thanks and look forward to your words of wisdom!

Davey xx

• Legolas
    Legolas

Welcome!

I was always feeling guilty as well...UNTIL I found out the TRUTH about the 'truth'! ( How it was all a LIE!)

• garybuss
    garybuss

Welcome!

It might not be guilt. It might be an anxiety disorder. I understand anxiety disorders can be marked by disturbing thoughts and some of those feel like guilt. You might want to see medical doctor and get a current physical and a therapist and get a good ground up psychological evaluation. I suggest both to post exit people anyway.

Jumping to conclusions was about the only exercise I got for a while. Now I try to be objective. Some health issues are diagnosed by elimination. Try to eliminate a physical problem or an underlying disorder right away.

• ferret
    ferret

Davey33

Re: guilt

From my own experiences and those of others I know time is the only remedy for guilt.

It takes a long time to deprogram your brain from all you have been taught. It was six years