Bible verses or theological questions which "breaks" JW

by Shazard 21 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Shazard
    Shazard

Hi. I am newbie here and I am not ex-JW. Christ managed to protect me, but my brother fell into this cult. Now coz of this I am confessional Lutheran. BUT... can YOU help me with some bible passages, theological questions which are just stumper for JW as they are not trained to answer them. I know all the standart (and not only) passages, but wanted to get from ex-JW what are the themes JW just unable to answer and not trained to speak about!

• garybuss
    garybuss

Welcome! Sorry about your brother.

Theological and stumper logic questions tend to make Witnesses better Witnesses. Is this your goal? You could show a believing Jehovah's Witness a notarized picture of the whole Governing Body screwing a Vegas whore on a blackjack table and they will shun you and stay a Witness.

How about first you allow a challenge to your own cherished religious beliefs? A challenge similar to that challenge you'd like to arrange for your brother and see how your religion fares . . . and to see how you like it. Maybe then you will understand why insults and disrespect will not work for a vast majority.

Would you like to know what will work?

• TheListener
    TheListener

Welcome Shazard. Glad to see you're interested in helping your brother. It takes time and patience.

There is no magic solution.

Gary, it's nice to see you in such a good mood

• AlmostAtheist
    AlmostAtheist

Gary's right, showing them they're wrong unfortunately doesn't usually work. JW's are taught that they have "the truth", so anything else is logically "false". If they can't personally explain why whatever you show them is wrong, they will just assume that it is their personal ignorance, not a flaw in their views.