Question About Matthew 13:24

by lynnmelo 17 Replies latest jw friends

• lynnmelo
    lynnmelo

As some of you may know (from my previous posts), I'm studying with the JW's (& have been for 2 years) but have decided not to be baptized after reading some of the information and links from this site. However, I am supposed to be having one last book study to finish the Worship the One True God book. When I do this study, I'm considering being upfront with my Bible study conductor, telling her some of my reasons for deciding not to become a JW. In my explanation, I basically want to tell her that I'll never be able to accept that the GB of the Watchtower is the "faithful and discreet slave" of the bible. To me, that one doctrine is the glue that holds the entire organization together, so if I just deal with that, it will cover all other things. However, in the past when we've discussed this issue, I brought up the following point, which I've seen discussed on this board as well: Where was the faithful and discreet slave and God's "visible organization" during all the years before the Watchtower? She has answered by bringing up Matthew 13:24, saying that this was the time during which the wheat and the weeds were growing.

Any thoughts on her response and/or suggestions on what I might say to her?

Thanks in advance.

• Soledad
    Soledad

Gotta love those JW's

You tell her that you don't believe that the GB is the faithful and discreet slave, she goes and quotes a scripture interpreted by that same FDS to prove that they are who they say they are!

It's all hogwash. Debating sciptures with a JW is a waste of time. They think that the know the whole bible inside and out and that theirs is the only correct interpretation. Bring up instead the recent child molestation scandals.

• Narkissos
    Narkissos

The parable is explained in vs. 36ff: