hello

by scarecrow 12 Replies latest jw friends

• scarecrow
    scarecrow

I'm not a newbie - been here before under another name . Haven't posted for quite awhile . I would like to be more regular . About my name ( because someone invariabally asks) : I was reading some of the posts on and off and those of particular interest are ones that talk about the borg's effort at trying to methodically remove the free will to think process from us when we were in attendance at their de-programming sessions( meetings ) Then awhile ago I was thinking of the classic movie " The wizard of Oz" I thought how like the scarecrow we were when we were jw's. When Dorothy came across scarecrow - his dilemma was : he didn't have a brain .I was thinking how much like the scarecrow we were when we were in attendance at the org - not that we didn't think but in a way we didn't have a brain - we didn't need one - The society did all the thinking for us .They practically even told us we didn't need one when they said - "you don't have to study or research - the society does it for you -saving you valueable time" (remember that load of crap?) And to think I fell for it -even thanking them lol .They made us believe we studied other religions on our own in " mankind's search for God" but they chose the religions we studied in that book and chose the wording caefully to malign them. The watchtower studies were designed in such a way so that the answer was obvious .We were like robots - how idiotic we mst have looked to the odd visitor lol. Sometimes things bothered me - I questioned things but kept them secret lest I be labelled as having independent or apostate thinking . But more and more different things bothered me . I attended meetings but critized much to myself . Unbeknownst to me , my university son was checking things out - the teachings and quotes from the study material of the society against the philosphers they used (at their convienience) when they suppported their view . BUT ...