I've Got a Christmas Present Given by Pastor Russell

by Seeker4 17 Replies latest jw friends

• Seeker4
    Seeker4

I've got a really good collection of WTS literature that I've been working on since the 1960s. One book I have is a copy of Poems of the Dawn, copyright 1912, leatherbound.

It's inscribed thus: "Eleanor A. Shires - A gift from Pastor Russell - Xmas 1911"

The cover is in rough shape, but the pages are perfect. With that inscription, what do you think it might be worth? I've got about 90% of all the WTS's books, including volume 7 of SIS. Trying to decide what I want to do with them. Sell, donate or keep my collection.

Any suggestions?

S4

• Scully
    Scully

You could scan that inscription for one thing and share it with all of us.

Wasn't this just a few years prior to the time when he was supposed to have been appointed by Jesus as the Faithful And Discreet Slave?

• Nathan Natas
    Nathan Natas

I think that title has been recently reprinted by the fine folks at "Watchtower Farm,"

http://www.watchtowerfarm.org/servlet/the-Poems-of-Dawn/Categories (scroll down the page)

but that should have little effect on the value of a signed original copy. If you hold it just a few more years, it will be 100 years old. Maybe if you contacted some of the existing Bible Student groups you could get an idea of its value, since they still follow the Russellite path.

• knothead34
    knothead34

is the watchtower farm run by JWs?

• blondie
    blondie

What used to be Watchtower Farms (now more accurately called Wallkill) is owned by the Watchtower Society and staffed by volunteer JWs.

Blondie

• skyman
    skyman

Keep them. If money is no concern I would donate the collection to someone who would be able to use the material to help other come out of the BORG.

• Seeker4
    Seeker4