Anyone experienced the private Kingdom Schools?

by Sheepish 25 Replies latest jw experiences

• Sheepish
    Sheepish

I was a teacher for the first year of a newly organized "Kingdom School", in 1977.(I was YOUNG!) This was a private school for JW's kids. It was pretty cool actually, but I don't think it lasted long. Mine was in Tucson. Were they tried anywhere else?

• Effervescent
    Effervescent

Wow, I'm actually shocked to hear such a thing existed. I lived in Oregon my whole childhood and I'm fairly certain there were none there. Good thing- I couldn't imagine how I would have turned out with NO outside socialization!

• Jourles
    Jourles

My mom sent me to one somewhere around grade 6, I think. It was in between Calvert home schooling(which I lasted for maybe half a year) and public school. Thank god I ended up back in public school.

The JW-only school that I went to was held somewhere around Spring Valley or La Mesa, CA, I don't remember which. I only went for a few months. Believe me, it was pretty lame from what I remember. And it was also held in a brother's home. Yes, in a private home. Weird, now that I recall.

• MetricRX
    MetricRX

Good god...

No. Poor little bastards. Sad.

• clear2c
    clear2c

I attended a jw school (TFE Trouble free education) during the 70's in southern california.

• in a new york bethel minute
    in a new york bethel minute

i remember a friend of mine went to one in arizona back in the late 80's or early 90's... they seemed to like it... then again, they were about 10-13... BEFORE all the fun of highschool starts

bethel

• misanthropic
    misanthropic

Sheepish- There was a Witness school here where I live in Tucson my ex went to when he was growing up. I bet it's the same school. It's near the Kingdon hall off of like Romero and Wetmore Rd, somewhere near that anyway.