Brother Salda

by teejay 10 Replies latest jw friends

• teejay
    teejay

The last memorial service/funeral I went to at a Kingdom Hall was for Brother Salda (his real name). Funny, but I can't think of his first name (his wife's name is Eileen); as for him, I only remember "Brother Salda."

Brother Salda was a very intelligent man, but not a very good Dub. His wife and three sons were all JWs. He worked for the state as a civil engineer, I think. In his own way he was brilliant, but not without his quirks. Those quirks got him laughed at (and away from any meaningful position in the cong.), laughs that were usually behind his back, but not always. As far as I could tell, he came to the religion reluctantly, since his wife wasn't going to give it up, and I was always under the impression that if he wanted to have any kind of relationship with his sons he figured he better get with the JW program. He did.

Brother Salda had one quirk that drove most people insane, if not just away from his presence--he hugged everybody and he never quit. And when I say everybody, that's what I mean. Sisters, brothers, elders. Most thought he was odd, and so did I.

The thing is, because of how I grew up, I had a hard time expressing affection for anyone, even people in my family that I loved. Somehow, over time, Brother Salda broke down that very thick wall that life had created for me. In spite of the jokes that others made about him, I can say that I came to love Brother Salda. He'd come up and greet you, and never seemed to be able to talk to you--asking how your week had been or sharing an experience of his own--without putting his arm firmly around your shoulder, something that got under my skin... until I learned to like it... learned to look forward to it. It was something my own father had NEVER done.