Relationship guru's needed

by Imnostranger 16 Replies latest social relationships

• Imnostranger
    Imnostranger

Hello Folks

I'm not really a newbie - you guys know me by another name. I used another screen name for purposes of anonymity. I want to get some advice on a sensitive issue - and appreciate your wisdom - but you just never know who's reading. When you figure out who I am PLEASE don't blurt it out for the whole world to see.

Here's my delema: I've been in a relationship with a wonderful woman for the past 2 years. She's kind, considerate, smart, etc. We have actually never had a fight or argument. Never. I have always had some hesitation about moving forward with the relationship and moving in or making a committment. The only real problem in the relationship is that I don't feel a sexual connection and we rarely have sex. When we do - it's not very satisfying to me - but I do love her and want her to be happy - so I do my best in that area. I just don't feel sexual about her - although I do find her quite attractive - which is so confusing to me.

The second part of the problem is that I met someone recently that I am attracted to and it is very distracting to me. I would never, ever, ever cheat - in fact I cut off contact with the person so that I can focus on my relationship without being so distracted. I really would not feel good about leaving my girlfriend for another girl. I want to get clear on whether this relationship is for me on its own merit - not because of other influence.

We've also started couples therapy - and my girlfriend knows about my attraction to the other girl. What she doesn't know is that the girl is attracted to me also.

All opinions and advice are welcome. Is therapy a waste of money? Are we doomed? Am I scum for being attracted to someone else?

THanks guys

• Incense_and_Peppermints
    Incense_and_Peppermints