How Many Hours Do You Work?

by Englishman 41 Replies latest jw friends

• Englishman
    Englishman

Just curious.

Todays "Times" says that Americans do most things one hour before the Brits do.

Americans, it says, start work at 8am, Brits rarely before 9 am. American lunch is at 12 noon, the UK is 1pm. American dinner is at 6pm, UK eats around 7.

But how many hours do you need to actually work?

I start at 9, generally and finish around 3.30, 4 days a week. So I do a 26 hour week as I don't stop for lunch. Her ladyship works from 9 till around 4.30, 5 days a week.

I mean, that's enough, isn't it?

..and I want 6 weeks holiday every year too.

Englishman.

• New Castles
    New Castles

6 weeks holiday??? I get 3 weeks and thats it...

I work 8-5 five days a week, 40 hours....some saturday mornings

• Satanus
    Satanus

You guys know how to live. The tradespeople i have been working w for the last 2 months start at 7am and work untill 6pm. On one job, we worked 29 days without a day off. I averaged 9 hours a day during those 29 days. Some of us busy beaver canadians are a capitalist's dream.

S

Ps, i didn't make it for 7am most of the time

• bull01lay
    bull01lay

I'm on the old standard brit hours... 9 - 5.30. However, I'm in one of those 'stay till it's done' type jobs, so this often can end up as all nighters!!!

I don't envy our friends across the pond - generally, they have a terribly low holiday allowance!!

Bull!

• Xena
    Xena

Define work

Fortunately for me I work for some very easy going people I tend to get in somewhere between 8 and 8:30 usually....lunch can be from 30 minutes to an hour and 30 minutes depending on what is going on that day....and I usually leave about 5...

Vacation time sucks though...I don't want to think about it, it depresses me

• New Castles
    New Castles

What do you work in Xena??

• Tuesday
    Tuesday