THE BIBLE,God's Word or Man's?

by Blueblades 16 Replies latest jw friends

• Blueblades
    Blueblades

Printed in 1989,who remembers studying this publication at the book study and what have you concluded then and now?

Some chapter titles:How Believable Is the "Old Testament"? The "New Testament"----History or Myth?

Thanks for your input in advance.

Blueblades

• RunningMan
    RunningMan

I remember studying this book at the book study. This is the one that quotes extensively from Francis Hitching, to back up its statements regarding evolution, etc. Unfortunately, they don't mention that Francis Hitching is a quack with no scientific credentials. He is a paranormalist and an "expert" on dowsing.

So, for what it's worth, the jury is in - the Bible is Man's word, and it's not even among his best work.

• AlanF
    AlanF

I never studied the book at a bookstudy, but I studied it as a critic. It's pretty bad as a defense of the Bible. It uses arguments that long ago were known to be bogus. The writer(s) must have known that some of their defenses were based on quack writings of people like paranormalist Francis Hitching and quack 'scientist' Ivan Sanderson. Interestingly, some of these arguments have not been mentioned in WTS literature since 1989. Perhaps some criticisms got through the writer(s)' thick heads.

AlanF

• logansrun
    logansrun

I had a return visit about eight years ago with a older man who was extremely skeptical about the Bible.I placed the book with him and returned the next week with utter confidence that he would see the magnificant arguments put forward and start studying.

Boy was I wrong.

The first words out of his mouth were, and I think I remember them exactly, "That book is extremely biased." He went on to tear it to pieces. Funny thing, I think some of his arguments stayed in my brain till I was emotionally ready to deal with them.

Bradley