I don't like the person i am becoming...

by SpunkedTeen 28 Replies latest jw friends

• SpunkedTeen
    SpunkedTeen

I have not been active here lately just lurking mostly but i have no one to talk to and i need some help i guess.I started working out and became friends with my personal trainer(we went to school together).I started going out with him(lying to my mother about what i was doing,another thing to add to the list of lies,it's becoming too easy!) and i notice i'm slowly becoming the worldy people that the jw's described.I've become very selfish and rude and very apathetic towards everything and everyone.I always thought the values that jw's taught were really good.If i cut ties with the only friend i have now , i would probably slip into a deep depression and i that is something that i want to avoid at all costs.I start university in january and my plan was to stick it out in the organisation until i got my degree and became fully independant but as of late a elder told me i am being considered to become a M.S and told me what i need to work on and since then the other elders have been nagging me to work on the same things.I'm trying to rid my self of my 'priveleges' in the cong but nothings working...If anyone has experienced a similar situation what advice would you give? , Oh and my mom was always super into the religion having been a pioneer and bethel worker for years but we went to the Regional convention two weeks ago and now she is even more exasperating (for example a sister asked my why i was 19 years old and not a MS or serving at bethel yet, which is fine i've learnt how to deal with these questions but when i told my mother whom has always been content with me just being in the religion and never pushed me towards anything asked me if i was happy with what i was and if i would not be happier at bethel or regular pioneering.)Any help on how to deal with her would be very much appreciated.

• Giles Gray
    Giles Gray