Witnessing in Prisons.....

by razorMind 10 Replies latest jw friends

• razorMind
    razorMind

Did anyone here used to do that? What was it like?

I'm just curious about this, and the prison baptisms---never knew much about it. Thanks in advance.

• Kenneson
    Kenneson

I never visited a prison while I was a JW, but I have been doing so through Prison Fellowship for the past 10 years. We conduct seminars at different institutions (for three nights each time, usually from 6-8 p.m.) We open with songs and prayer. Then one person teaches a prescribed lesson. Afterwards we break off into groups and have discussions. I am a facilatator. We come back together to conclude with song and prayer before dismissal. By the way, we just concluded one last night.

We have run into JWs from time to time. They meet on certain nights, which are posted in the dorms; the same method of announcements apply to Prison Fellowship, Catholic services, Jewish and Muslim. JWs have Bible studies with a few persons in rooms adjacent to the Chapel. I'm not aware of them being allowed to go to each person there or from dorm to dorm. (We certainly are not). If the same is true with them as us they can only meet with people who have expressed a desire for someone to come study with them or who choose to attend their group. Since most prison chapels have baptismal tubs, they probably would have no choice but to use those if someone wanted to be baptized. Might be a good question to the Chaplain next time, but that won't be until in the middle of August.

• Gamaliel
    Gamaliel