It's been a GREAT week for me!

by dubstepped 20 Replies latest jw experiences

• dubstepped
    dubstepped

So as some of you know I have a podcast called This JW Life. I put my story out there in 9 parts, and I've had lots of great experiences so far and met lots of nice people and I've made new internet friends, even some in person. This last seven days though has been soooooo cool!

On Sunday my wife and I traveled to meet a listener that is PIMO. She's in her 60's, married, and has kids and grandkids, all of whom are in the cult. They even work for JWs, pretty much all of the adults. So if she were to leave she would literally lose everything and everyone. Well, we arranged to meet her in a restaurant since her husband was away, we had a cover story in case anyone saw us and wondered who we were, particularly me as I have a beard so I can't claim to be a JW, and we just had a great time. She got to be her authentic self and let her guard down. We just talked and swapped stories and my wife and I made a new friend, and she got to release some of that pent up emotion from her life.

Just last night I got an email from Australia. This lady explained that she started listening to my podcast 3 weeks ago, that it confirmed so much of what she thought and opened her eyes to other things, and then she went and read some of the books that I recommended on one of my episodes. She's had a hard life in Jehovah's loving organization, facing lots of abuse, and now as an adult with a husband and kids she's taking a stand. She submitted a letter of disassociation just yesterday morning. Her son is leaving with her. Her husband is supportive, even if not ready to make a move himself.