Just recovering from a 'Mormon Mind Melt' ...

by LoveUniHateExams 18 Replies latest jw experiences

• LoveUniHateExams
    LoveUniHateExams

I was in town centre about an hour ago to buy a shirt and tie for an upcoming job interview when I was stopped by a youngish, clean cut American young man (20-ish) in a cheap suit. My heart sank as I thought it was local JWs. To my slight relief, it was Mormons!

Elder so-and-so introduced himself as a Mormon and started to ask whether I believed in God or Jesus Christ. He had a German or Danish sounding surnamed that escapes me - I'll call him Elder Jensen

As I've been screwed over by JWism, not Mormonism, I chose not to say that I'm an exJW, and to go easy on him. I said that I come from a moderate Christian background, but I'm a scientist, recently-graduated from the local university.

I said that I accept evolution due to the abundant evidence, so reject creationism. At this point a local man & woman (50-ish) came up to me and introduced themselves as Mormons (I forget their names, too, but let's call them Fred & Vera - they're good northern names ).

Fred listened to my reasoning about science, and started talking about 'signs', a la Watchtower. I then told them that of all the times in history, today, in 2015, in the West, is the best time to be alive, what with the advances in medicine and science. I told them they should be glad that they're preaching in the West and not, say, in Russia (they might get beaten up) or in Saudi Arabia (they might get beheaded). They reluctantly agreed. As for his 'signs', I said that people are allowed to believe in what they like but it's just that: belief, not knowledge.