Choices...

by Sammy Jenkis 11 Replies latest watchtower scandals

• Sammy Jenkis
    Sammy Jenkis

Quick little moment of reflection I experienced today:

I had a buddy back in high school whose younger brother was an acquaintance of mine, we weren't ever really friends but the times we interacted he was alright.

For all intents and purposes we'll call this guy "Smitty."

Smitty was an all star JW, super zealous on service, Mr. Go-to for anything spiritual, completely a Johnny-on-the-spot in his congregation, and honestly a person I saw a lot of potential in for the future with the "truth" and life in general.

After I graduated high school I lost touch with his brother and about 3 years later heard a story on the news where his name popped up. Apparently he turned to the dark side (literally, criminal) and was imprisoned for a federal crime. I looked him up on the inmate database today and learned he is not to be free until 2016. I just sat there staring at my monitor shocked, how can someone with so much potential be so stupid? 2016!!!!!!!

His whole congo must now revel in the fact that all of this happens when you "leave Jehovah." The truth is that those things happen when we choose to do stupid things.

Moral of the story: DON'T DO STUPID THINGS.

• iCeltic
    iCeltic

Here Here!

• Sammy Jenkis
    Sammy Jenkis

Here-here iceltic!!

• whathappened
    whathappened

This just reinforces the notion the Witnesses have about what bad things happen out side the pristine doors of the Kingdom Hall. Too bad and so sad.

• Sammy Jenkis
    Sammy Jenkis

True but sometimes (often) those bad things happen within those doors too.

• OnTheWayOut
    OnTheWayOut

"Don't do stupid things." Sure.

But I always try to understand the other side of anything. It doesn't mean you have to agree to understand the other side.

JW's are depressed because of their lifestyle. They are not taught properly to think properly and interact properly with "the world."