Another Newbie?

by DJS 41 Replies latest jw friends

• DJS
    DJS

Greetings all,

I guess I'm a newbie. I've been reading (lurking) for a looooonnnnnggggg time, but have finally joined and this is my first post. My story is of course very similar to all the others. My parents were baptized in the 50s and we were raised kinda sorta around the JWs, not celbrating holidays, occasionally studying, rarely going to meetings and participating in sports, etc. while growing up. I left college in the early 70s because, as you all know, the end was coming in '75 and college was simply a waste of time.

I married, raised a family and progessed in the JW org, becoming an elder (which is really when I started to become sick of the org.). Anyway, to make a long story short I crashed and burned my marriage and the JW at essentially the same time. I will fill in the particulars on later posts, but suffice it to say that the mind numbing control and the lack of love were the two primary reasons for my crisis of conscience.

After leaving the Borg I returned to college, finishing my undergraduate degree and getting a masters degree (MBA). My two beautiful children followed me out, and they are both very prosperous and happy and I remain stupid crazy close to both of them. I've lived an amazingly interesting life the past two decades away from the Borg - too much to put into one posting.

I have enjoyed this site for many years and want to thank all of you for helping others to see the light about the wicked Borg. Its lack of love continues to burn my brain as I read the experiences of others coming out. Welcome to freedom all.

• Coffee House Girl
    Coffee House Girl

Welcome!

Thank you for your first post, as I am now pursuing my undergrad (senior status, one year to go) and would also like to go to grad school. I like to read about post-exit success stories, it helps me to keep plugging along to secure a happier future outside the borg!

CHG

• Sam Whiskey
    Sam Whiskey