For photographers - Canon shooters

by SadElder 26 Replies latest social entertainment

• SadElder
    SadElder

I'm a nature photographer and like most always seeking better, longer glass.

I'm most attracted to the 600mm f4 IS Canon lens though some have suggested dropping down to a 500mm due to the weight issue. Both these lenses are heavy and I can't see myself lugging either one long distances without my modified baby stroller.

Any experiences with either lens? What tripod head are you using?

Happy shooting.

• therevealer
    therevealer

Canon Powershot SX50HS Digital Camera

Can a camera like this have any credibility in your realm.

• finallysomepride
    finallysomepride

I used to be into photography 20 years back, most of my equipment long gone & my only current camera is my phone LOL

but i am considering moving into digital SLRs

• SadElder
    SadElder

revealer: I also have among my arsenal a nice Canon Elph. I carry it in my console for a quick shot now and then. I've always believed that it's the shot that counts, not the gear. If you're happy with what you have and enjoy using it, don't let anyone look down on your choices. I don't have much patience for gear elitists. There will always be a bigger, better, faster, fancier something that dates the thing you bought yesterday. There are folks out there all the time who outshine my limited abilities, but I've met some really great people who are always willing to share what they've learned.

pride: Many folks get some great phoe shots, so don't discount it. I use my own phone now and then to get a shot of something. My Nikon film cameras found themselves at the bottom of a closet for many years. About 6 years ago I got bit by the bug again and really enjoy digital. Lots of practice shooting without the expense of processing and printing. Same comments as above... enjoy what you shoot... shoot for youself and be happy. PM if you want some pointers for whatever they may be worth.