My first English Essay for college, I wrote about my experience as a JW.

by JonathanH 31 Replies latest jw friends

• JonathanH
    JonathanH

So I am in my first semester of college, and I'm really enjoying it. I am already tired since I work full time in addition to going to school full time, but I will get over that hump eventually. Anyway in my English 101 class our first essay due was to be a personal narrative, 4 pages(ish), in MLA format using microsoft word. Our professor had us give him three different topics per person that we could write about, and he would choose the one he wanted us to write about. One of my three was my being disfellowshipped (or Disassociated, same difference.) I got an "A" on the paper, a 92 to be exact. A few points were taken off for a few grammar and puncuation mistakes, and a couple points for some stylistic reasons he gave.

Over all I am proud of the essay. I was a bit daunted at first. Trying to fit the events, the reasons, the background info, the cultural info, and still make it into a personal narrative all in four pages was difficult, but after a couple of rough drafts and rewrites, and some trimming and editting I got it down to just over four pages. I'll include the essay in the end of this post. I wanted to post it as soon as I was done with it, but there is a program that checks the internet for plagiarism, and I didn't want it to show up that I pulled my whole essay from this site seeing as how that would probably break all sorts of rules. However, now the essay is finished and graded so I feel comfortable putting it up here.