Is it normal to spend so much time here?

by burnedout 15 Replies latest jw experiences

• burnedout
    burnedout

I am fairly new to taking a stand on what I have long felt about the org. No longer an Elder now (BIG weight off my shoulders), and really find I am researching on this board all kinds of things I suspected and are now confirmed. Looking back over the years I had many intuitions about some situations and never took action on those feelings.

I used to spend all kinds of time working hard on talks and parts, coming up with new and interesting illustrations trying to 'help' others, (always hated field circus) but now I see all that was a waste of my time and energy. Has anyone else realized they are spending a ton of time here confirming what they always knew?

BTW, things are going ok with my wife regarding how I feel about the org, I have followed the advice of many posters here and have been gentle with my observations. I don't make a big deal about what I hear from the stage, but when she asks me what I think I explain my side.

Also, I have made progress with not drinking... Thanks to all for their support and help.

Burnedout

• Broken Promises
    Broken Promises

Good to hear things are going well for you.

I think it is normal at first to spend a lot of time here and at other sites. You are soaking in information about an org that used to take up every minute of our lives. As for confirming what we already knew, I take that as a good thing. It shows our minds were starting to break free of the cult thinking before we made the decision to leave.

If it ever feels overwhelming, step back and take some time away from the net. Even a day or two away will help clear your mind.

• oompa
    oompa