Did anyone try to go to the high school prom ?

by Pitchess Co-Gen 23 Replies latest jw experiences

• Pitchess Co-Gen
    Pitchess Co-Gen

I remember being a high school senior and wanting to go to prom ( I graduated from high school in 2003 ), but prom was forbidden when your a JW teen. I even said to my parents if I took a Witness girl would it be ok; they actually said yes. I found a girl ( yes she's a witness ) to go with me, but here's the kicker she agreed to go. All of a sudden she had a part on the meeting ( Why avoid school activities ? ), and she didn't want to feel like a hypocrite so she droped out of the date. Needless to say I didn't go to my prom ( three years later a went to someone elses prom, but that another story ).

• coffee_black
    coffee_black

I went to both my Jr. and Sr. Proms. With JW guys... but I graduated in 1969 so things were a little different back then... most of the kids in my hall went to their Proms too...and most of them are still JWs.

Coffee

• wasblind
    wasblind

Hello there Pritches Co-gen,

the sister who studied with me tried her best to talk me

out of letting my daughter go to the prom, and out of everything

else that involved a lot of social interaction with non- JW's , JW's fail to realize that

forbidding teens to interact with others outside of the JW world, only creates social retards

and when they leave the truth, many become clueless adults in the real world

• clearpoison
    clearpoison