JW ADVANTAGES vs DISADVANTAGES

by DesirousOfChange 48 Replies latest jw friends

• DesirousOfChange
    DesirousOfChange

This earlier topic [WHY DO IT FEEL BAD ABOUT MY CHILDREN LEAVING JW RELIGION?] is what causes me to ask this question:

http://www.jehovahs-witness.net/jw/friends/208031/1/Why-do-I-feel-bad-about-my-children-leaving-the-JW-religion

I've had some personal experiences that caused me to doubt the "spirit directed" organizational arrangement [won't go into that here though] and one thing to another led me here. I just lurked a long time, fearful of posting and being outed. Then became brazen enough to post some replies (wow 241). Reading things here have opened my eyes even further to more issues. It's sad that so many people have been "burned". I've witnessed that too, and even experienced it, but not in any significant way at this point. Yet, similar to the poster referenced above, I have to wonder:

DO I AND MY FAMILY GET MORE GOOD FROM BEING JWs THAN THE BAD CONSEQUENCES?

Admit it, at least there is a moral standard among (most of) the Witnesses.

It encourages people to avoid things like smoking, drug use, alcohol abuse, "fornicating" and the risk of things associated with that (both physcial and emotional), dishonesty, and other bad behaviors that can cause one problems in life. Yes, positive peer pressure.

It provides a social network of (mostly) good associates for families, including a place for young people to meet other young people who also have higher than average morals and convictions.

Discouraging young people from getting a better education concerns me, but MANY young people in our area are simply ignoring that. Not the majority, but then I don't really know if the majority should go on to college, but the bright ones are. Including elders' children. Nurses. Teachers. IT. Accounting. Even one lawyer.