Interview with an Apostate: Seeking Agape

by Seeking agape 10 Replies latest jw experiences

• Seeking agape
    Seeking agape
    Tell us a little about yourself and your family.

My parents became JW's in 1968. My oldest sisters came along in the early 70's because my parents thought they would not have to raise them in this "system of things". I came long in the late 80's...Woops. I have been fading from the Org since 2013. I've been mentally out for about 8 months.

Were you a born in or a convert?

Born In

Are your parents / family JWs?

My Dad is out mentally. My mom and one of my siblings are still in. I have a sister that's out and my husband has always been a "un-belieber"

How many generations have been JWs?

I guess I would have been the second?

Did you hold any position in the WTS? (MS, Elder etc...)

Not allowed to cause I'm a woman. I auxiliary pioneered once and got dreadfully sick because I was trying to work full time, raise a child, deal with my cheating husband and pioneer. So yeah I never did that again.

Did you *really* believe in the bible, in spirits (angels, demons)?

Yes and I still do.

Did you get baptized? When and why?

I got baptized at 22. I had a baby at 19 and wanted to come back to the "truth" Had a heck of a time trying to get someone to study with me. They literally sat down with me and asked "are you just coming back to the truth because you want material things from the brothers and sisters who pity you...."

What was the initial trigger that made you start questioning things?

See above... They also tried to prevent me from marrying my baby's father because he wasn't baptized and I was.

Never treated right by anyone who was "my friend" essentially being back stabbed or taken advantage of for what I could offer them. Being there for them when they needed a shoulder to cry on but when i had a problem they weren't there or "that's what happens when you marry an un-belieber (spelled wrong on purpose)