feeling lousy

by poor places 27 Replies latest jw friends

• poor places
    poor places

Hi folks,

I'm a newbie here. Been watching the proceedings on this site for some time now. I never posted before because I never felt safe doing so, but here I am. And what can I say? My story, I suppose, is more or less like everyone else's story here: born in the religion, stayed well past the teen years for reasons that now seem foggy and difficult to explain, and am now feeling unable to leave because of family.

I guess the reason I'm posting is that I feel like I'm starting to lose it. My mind, that is. My anxiety is almost non-stop, and I've just about given up on the thought of fitting in anywhere, having more than two friends, or getting married. I'm usually not a selfish person and I don't even like talking about myself, but I guess I'm just looking for an outlet, some kind words. Kind, non-judgmental words. Where are those, ever? Take care, everybody.

• dgp
    dgp

Welcome, poor places. Stick around because it will help you. I'm a worldly, but I'm glad to be the one to welcome you here.

• Heartbreaker
    Heartbreaker

Finally I can post...weird, it was locked up. I sent you a PM Poor Places, click the envelope in the upper right hand corner. You may have to try it a few times, back out and try again, it will eventually work.

• asilentone
  • mindmelda
    mindmelda

You've been made to feel as though there is no rewarding life outside of Jehovah's Witnesses.You've been told to give up everything for the New System and you'd be rewarded now and in the future, but it sounds like that's not happening for you, so you think it's your fault.

If someone tells you that over and over again for years and years, you tend to believe it.