boozing as a jw

by Adrianoblue 25 Replies latest jw friends

• Adrianoblue
    Adrianoblue

i got babtized at the age of 23. i was not a so called born in guy. i started studying the bible at 20, and before that i never heard of the jw-religion. so everything was pretty new for me.

to make a long story short: a month or so after baptizm, i felt probably lonley one evenig and got drunk right out of my brains. actually there was no specific reason other than i just got carried away. the following morning i woke up with an extremely bad consiance, and thought what a damned sinner i was! gosh, did i suffer from guilt! because of that, the following years i occasionally did the same thing now and again. i even secretly started smoking at one point.

for many years, i thought that i was the only one who did so. until i witnessed some other brothers overdone it with the booze.

so to my question: did any of you done the same while being a jw? i used to confess a few times, but it happend to often, so i didn`t bother in the end.

did you also have a guilty consiance during your jw-time?

adrianoblue

• cantleave
    cantleave

Yep - beer and JWism go hand in hand and have done since Rutherford's day.

• Adrianoblue
    Adrianoblue

thaks cantleave,

where did you get that information from?

• cantleave
    cantleave

Look Rutherford up on the search option here and also on Google and Wikipeadia. He was apparently violating prohibition and was known for his drinking. Also read experiences of Bethelites and the brown paper bags. All this eye opening stuff, and quite shocking.

• jaguarbass
    jaguarbass

All the witnesses male and female that I knew were alcoholics.

We all over did it. Alcohol was legal among the JW's back in the 70's.

We all had well stocked bars in our basements and lived to party. Like it was 1974.

• angel eyes
    angel eyes