My friend died. Now what?

by target 13 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• target
    target

My whole belief system has been shaken. I don't believe anything I learned while a Jw. But now a dear friend has passed away. He was not a JW. I never liked the idea that "when you are dead, you're dead" that the borg taught. I no longer believe the Bible is the word of God. So now I'm left hangin' wondering what has happened to my friend?
    Is he "just dead"?
    Is he in Heaven?
    Is he on the "other side"?
    I wasn't prepared for this. I wasn't expecting anyone I knew to die, except for my father-in-law, and I don't much care where he ends up.

When I started studying with the JWs over thirty years ago, it was because I wanted the answer to this very question. Now I see I never had the answer after all and I'm right back where I started.

Target

• sf
    sf

{{{{{{{Huggingtarget}}}}}}}

Sincerely, sKally

• Tina
    Tina

(((((((((target))))))))
    my soncerest condolences,luv,T

Vive Bene
    Spesso L'amore
    Di Risata Molto!!!

• Angharad
    Angharad

Sorry for your loss Target

• peaceloveharmony
    peaceloveharmony

target, i'm very very sorry for your loss!

(((((((((taget)))))))))

we all must find our own path and make peace with death in our own ways. sending much love to you

love
    harmony

• Mulan
    Mulan

My dear cousin died in September, and we were both lifelong JW's until about six years ago. I like to think of her in heaven, with our grandparents. I talk to her, and "keep her alive" that way. Maybe it's silly, but it works for me. I think she is "on the other side" as you suggested. What that is, I don't know, but maybe someday, we will understand. I just can't believe that death is the end of it all.

I am so sorry for your loss.

Marilyn (a.k.a. Mulan)

• concerned mama
    concerned mama

My condolences on your loss. I know i told someone else this, so at the risk of being repetitive, I will say it again.