NT "ho theos", and John 8: 58

by hamsterbait 27 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• hamsterbait
    hamsterbait

The WT says that if John 1 : 1 said the Word is God it would have put the word "ho" before theos.

John 20; 28 refers to Christ as ho theos.

John 8: 58 in NWT is "Before Abraham came into existence I have been" (prin Abraham genesthai ego en) but the W&H greek text reads "prin Abraham genesthaiego eimi"

There are three footnotes in the three editions of NWT to this:

"Perfect indefinite tense" - is this a greek or hebrew tense?

2nd Ed. "properly rendered in the perfect tense indicative"

3rd Ed. " properly rendered in the perfect tense"

Whilst I flatter myself that i speak French and German satisfactorily, I should like comment from those who know more of greek as I am a complete amateur here.

How often is Christ refered to as HO Theos in NT? Why does the NWT omit "Alpha and Omega" in Rev 1: 11 and why are the three footnotes all saying different things??

HB

• Amazing
    Amazing

The NWT is only honest when its doctrines are not at stake. I do recall that some independent scholarly criticism said that the perfect indefinite or indicative tense does not exist in Greek ... but is a Watchtower (Fred Franz) invention. I would have to do some digging to rediscover it ... but that is at least a lead for now.

The NWT also butchers Col. 1:6 by inserting the word [other] into the text that cannot be translated from Kione' Greek in order to bolster their non-trinitarian doctrine ... the original Greek text cannot be so rendered with such an insertion in brackets. It is an act of intellectual dishonesty.

When I get a chance, I will try to find the source regarding the tenses in Greek, as I think it will help answer your questions regarding the changes in the various editions of the NWT.

• Earnest
    Earnest

As regards the tenses used in John 8:58, Jason Beduhn says in his book Truth in Translation, p.