Help with a Wedding

by hotspur 13 Replies latest jw experiences

• hotspur
    hotspur

Hi I've been lurking here for weeks now and have found the site most informative. But I have a problem which I'm sure has been dealt with before as most of my circumstances are not that unique. My background is, I had been with the borg since I was 15, some 40 years ago (really, I should've realised earlier!) and tried to 'fade'. So, I stopped going to the boredom sessions in 2000 - gradually! I had an affair in 2002 because of a failing marriage and had no further will to fix it - read here DEPRESSED! I was repentant at the JC hearing and went back to the marriage, only to find out 6 weeks later my darling JW, now, ex-wife (still in) had an affair 15 years earlier and my youngest daughter is not mine after all this time! I left and then 2 years later, with no meeting attendance at all (thank goodness), I moved in with a delightful lady (who is to become my wife in 7 weeks time!) being some 20 kms away from the old the congo that assasinated me. I never knew of the JC hearing just a phone call from my son saying I'd been df'd. He no longer attends. Ok - so! My mum wants to witness the wedding and is really very uncertain of being at the reception (she's now living 230kms away). She knows lots of things are wrong with the borg and has questioned them for years - she says "it's imperfect men that are wrong, I've nowhere else to go". My eldest daughter still attends the meetings, is coming to the wedding/reception and she wants her grandma to come as well. Nobody has a single thing against my betrothed and they all treat her very well - in fact, they prefer her to their mum! Go figure? How can I convince my dear mum to go against all the fear she has? She's no spring chicken.... LoL Please help.... any ideas? One big clincher - that's all it'd take. She hates all the paedo stuff, she's absolutely shocked over the UN debacle.... what can I do?

• cognac
    cognac