My story

by Layla33 23 Replies latest jw friends

• Layla33
    Layla33

This is my first time posting. Bear with me. I came across this site a few years ago, I never posted, I read it occasionally, some of the stories were interesting and affirming. This past week and all the situations prompted me to write my story. I may have to change a few things because anonymity about myself and my life is important.

I was born into the JW religion. I haven't been one since I was 18 years old. I just stopped attending and then they tried to force my hand and I am sure you know the rest. Before that time because of my dysfunctional family I lived with my aunt and uncle who were very close to me. My aunt and uncle were beautiful people and I loved them very much, but after just thinking about all the explanations, changes and doctrines, lies/deciet, molestations, sexual abuse, women disfellowshipped for being raped, Elders not even sanctioned when sexually assaulting women, known pedophiles were given high posts in the congreations that I knew about first hand, I logically couldn't follow it anymore. It seemed silly that so many people were blindly following some group of elusive people from some place giving out information like the government.