Can men discuss feminism critically?

by Paralipomenon 74 Replies latest jw friends

• Paralipomenon
    Paralipomenon

I am currently studying some of the issues of the feminist movement. One of my first observations is that men are really not welcome in the discussion. All the reference books and topics I have looked at so far are written by women. It seems that if a man voices an opinion that isn't in glowing extreme support, it is immediately dismissed as chauvinistic behavior. So I am going to start the topic off lightly to test the waters.

So the first question, can a man ever be critical of aspects of the feminist movement, or does that invalidate his opinion and make him a chauvinist?

• BrentR
    BrentR

I usually somehow end up getting into trouble when I try to talk about it. Ther are parts of the feminist movement that are healthy and a few that IMHO are toxic and work against women and society. And I will just leave it at that before I get part of my ass torn off.

• bigwilly
    bigwilly

Apparently I'm one of the few feminists with male equipment.

I've found that one can have very straight forward discussions once one has established a repor. In my case, feminists and I see eye-to-eye on a majority of the topics we discuss, because of this I'm free to raise questions or state my opinion most of the time.

• Nosferatu
    Nosferatu
    can a man ever be critical of aspects of the feminist movement, or does that invalidate his opinion and make him a chauvinist?

Dude, what do you expect from a group of women who think they're always right?

BTW, you might enjoy this blog:

http://dapook.blogspot.com/

• ness
    ness

of course! men can and SHOULD be critical of the feminist movement. im female, but im not so keen on feminism. im all for equality, but we must acknowledge that we are different creatures. in trying to be like men we have somehow lost who we are. that is in part feminism's doing. so be critical I say!

• Nosferatu
    Nosferatu