POLL: Occupations

by Angst 46 Replies latest jw friends

• Angst
    Angst

As a Witness what occupation did/do you hold?

I was speaking with a friend of mine that is a former Witness and we remarked about how many of us have worked in some sort of janitorial work.

• joelbear
    joelbear

I was in banking and am still in banking.

my JW friends were in landscaping, insurance, retail sales, architecture, but I had no friends who were janitors.

Joel

• RR
    RR

Most of the witnesses I knew, worked as janitors, or had their own cleaning business.

I had several jobs, worked at burger king, but mostly did office work as a temp. I did accounting and computers.

Today I work as a Letter Carrier for the USPS.

• teenyuck
    teenyuck

As I grew up, I was told to become a secretary....this would hold me until the perfect brother came along to marry me and "take care" of me-then I could have kids and pioneer. I now have a B.S. in Business Management and a Paralegal certificate-no kids.

Most of the "sisters" I knew growing up (in the 60's and 70's) did not work. The "brothers" were carpenters, truck drivers, funeral directors (two in one family), small business owners (carpet to meat distribution), one CPA (self-taught) and insurance salesmen. Since we lived in an area where many new immigrants came, we did have quite a few janitors. I cannot think of one doctor or attorney at the various congregations we attended.

We attended 5 congregations in and around Chicago. My mother was a dissenter who would argue with the elders, get on the bad side of them and high tail it to a new congregation to "start over". She is now totally brainwashed (I think somehow they removed it) and will not dispute anything. Just a little background to give you my perspective.

• Billygoat
    Billygoat