Were the people I studied with just crack pots?

by caz 19 Replies latest jw experiences

• caz
    caz

I have been thinking about my late Mother today, ( it would have been her b'day) and I am feeling a bit upset over the fact that I no longer have a beautiful old wooden table that she gave me before she passed away.

This piece of furniture was one of the first items that she bought when we emmigrated from the UK to Aus' and she had bought it 2nd hand.

I loved that table but I got rid of it on the insistance of the 2 women I was studying with as they told me it had demons in it!!

They also had me get rid of a big teddy bear given to my son as it had been given to me by a friend who was into spiritualism and such, for pretty much the same reason.

I feel like a fool for believing them but mostly because they were able to cajole me into giving away items in my home that I really did love and had wanted so much!

Is this a usual jw belief or were my 'teachers' a lil bit crazy?

CaZ

• skinnyboy
    skinnyboy

totally normal my friend!

i had to endure years of crackpot sisters filling my mothers head with crap! My mum, being the sheep she was, beleived it all! Regardless of how it affected us as children.

Just goes to prove what a bunch of nutters they all are eh!

• Gretchen956
    Gretchen956

This demon possession thing is pretty common throughout the world from what I can see. We've had threads on this before and a lot of people told stories. I have personal knowledge of it from the congregations I have been to in my lifetime. We were cautioned against buying things at yard sales, etc. Pretty screwy.

Sherry

• fairchild
    fairchild