Books you studied before becoming a JW

by littlerockguy 7 Replies latest watchtower bible

• littlerockguy
    littlerockguy

What book or books did you study to become a JW? Back in the mid 80s I studied 2 books, The Live Forever book and the United In Worship of the Only True God book, which took quite a bit of time to get through both of them. Now I guess they dont spend as much time with studies?

• Finally-Free
    Finally-Free

I studied the Live forever™ and United in Worship™ books. The second book too so long, and we eventually stopped the study. It was kind of silly to keep studying when I was already pioneering™. Besides, it interfered with me getting my time™.

W

• blondie
    blondie

They were studying the blue Truth book when I got baptized but since my mother never studied with us and neither did anyone else, I just had to answer a few questions with a larger group of prospective "baptism candidates". I have known a few people who were baptized that never studied any book, merely crammed for the questions in the OM book. I know of people who socialized with the elders rather than going through the questions because the elders "knew" they were JW material.

Blondie

• inquirer
    inquirer

I was obviously too young to read the "paradise book," but that was the book my mum read. It's very thorough to read.
    When I CAME in, it was the Knowledge book, the book where they tone things down too much.
    You might hate me, but I actually like those books. I thought all the important points were covered... What I didn't like was the PERSON I had to study with. :( It's kinda hard to open that book now, because of him. :( I can open up the paradise book and not feel bad like my mum.... But it doesn't matter really. I know so much about the Bible, the book just shows what I already know.

• DanTheMan
    DanTheMan

Live Forever

I still remember the cheesy disco pictures.

• littlerockguy
    littlerockguy